Project 8: Brochure

Front

P8-BrianStanfill-Front

Inside

P8-BrianStanfill-inside

Inside Panel/Back

P8-Brian-Stanfill-back

 Description: A three folded (duplex) brochure

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills): I started out with the setting up the three folds in InDesign. Opened two documents in InDesign; one for the back and one for the front panels. I made sure to label them first to remember how to print it and fold it. For the design of the project, I based the colors and inspiration on the Mexican flag. I made each section red, green, or white to go along with the colors. I also tried to pick pictures that would go with the theme. I aimed to keep the design simple but to include more pictures so I could showcase the beauty that Mexico itself offers. I used the ruler tool to set the guidelines.

I edited two images in Photoshop to adjust the text-wrapping. First I used the quick selection tool to select the section of the image I wanted to cut out. I then used the ‘refine edges’ section/tool to smooth out the rough or jagged edges. Part of that includes the dialogue box, smooth, feather, shift edge, and contrast. The cutout of the image looked great against the cutout background. I added symmetry and hierarchy by making sure everything was aligned and different sizes.

For the logo, I opened Adobe Illustrator. and used the pen tool to draw the sketch of the eagle. For the neckline, I created circles and added a white stroke. I used the pen tool to draw shapes and adjust them with the selection tool. I made sure everything was aligned by pulling out the rulers and using them as guides.

Programs/Tools Used: Adobe InDesign/ Adobe Illustrator/ Adobe Photoshop.

Message: Mexico is a great place to visit. It has a variety of locations and activities. There are geographical places to visit, great food to eat, and a lively culture.

Audience: Families, couples, or anyone wanting to travel.

Top Thing Learned: Editing a photo to have the text wrap around a certain cut-out.

Color scheme and color names: Complementary: red and green.

Title Font Name and Category: A Papa/ decorative

Copy Font Name and Category: DTL Documenta Sans ST/ Sans Serif   

Word Count: 326

ruins mexico city jarritos3 jarritos2overhead view of two authentic street tacos candles

Dia_de_los_Muertos_Celebration_in_Mission_District_of_San_Francisco,_CA

dancerljarritos1

Sources: (Links to images on original webpages)

http://www.amazon.com/Jarritos-Mandarina-Soft-Drink-12-5/dp/B0000GIVCI

http://wildwildworld.net.ua/fotodnya/780

http://epo.wikitrans.net/Votive_candle

wordoftheweek.barbierintl.com

\https://plus.google.com/+NatashaWisniewski/posts

obrazki.4ever.eu

https://www.foodieforall.com/product/bistec-taco-tortilleria-nixtamal-mexican-food-delivery/

One thought on “Project 8: Brochure

  1. Brian first off, Thank you again for helping me out today with printing! Your brochure is really fun! You did a great job at capturing a fun festive mood! I like the font you chose. Also the text wrap around the Temple thing is cool:) Also like I said before, I like the red white and green flag thing for each section. Good job!

    Like

Leave a comment