P3 Activity: Photography

BrianStanfill-05-Light-Outside
Light 1-Outside
Light 2-Inside
Light 2-Inside
Focus 1- Foreground
Focus 1- Foreground
Focus 2- Background
Focus 2- Background
Composition 1- Thirds
Composition 1- Thirds
Composition 2-Lead Room
Composition 2- Lead Room

This was the biggest photography project I have ever done and it was great. I was a little stressed at first, but it all came together and I am happy with my first pictures. This was also the first time I worked with Photoshop. For the first picture, I climbed to the top of the BYU-Idaho Stadium. I metered the sky and enhanced the foreground with Photoshop. The sky was very gray, so I added blue and brightened it up. For the inside light, I ventured over to the ceramics lab. I adjusted the brightness on the camera and shot the pots from slightly above. The lighting in the lab was bright enough so I did not have to add a lamp or any other light.

For the foreground and background pictures, I chose a chalked-up doorway. I like the colors and tried to have them as the main focus. I adjusted the focus to first be on the box of Crayons and took my photo. Then I adjusted the focus to be on the door in the background.

The Composition pictures focused on the Rule of Thirds. I found this blue door under the BYU-Idaho Stadium. I lined up the door and the post to each of the horizontal lines of the grid. For the Lead photograph, I took a picture where the subject is looking towards the middle of the picture to lead the eyes into the picture.

All of the photographs were enhanced by Adobe Photoshop. The layers, hue, saturation, color, and clarity were all focuses of the adjustments.

Leave a comment