Project 2 Event Ad

P2BrianStanfill-page-001

Description:

A color full-bleed event advertisement to promote a cooking class. This advertisement was created using Microsoft Word and a scanner.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills, FOCUS principles):

First, I scanned an image of the Saucy Creole Shrimp from a magazine. In Word, I designed a layout that would match the scanned magazine picture. The entire picture was used just as it was scanned. It had rich color and a warm feel to it. I added the title and body text with text boxes. To create the lines at the top and bottom, I drew one straight line and copied and pasted it twice. Then I grouped the three lines and copied and pasted them to put a new set at the bottom. That was done to create repetition within the project. I put the picture in the middle because I wanted it to be the main focal point. The title text was enlarged to also call attention. I picked a color scheme of red and green because it felt warm and spicy. The programs used in the project were Microsoft Word, Cannon Scanner, and a PDF Converter PDF2JPG.net.

Message:

The message was that there was a cooking class that could help people make good food in their own homes. I wanted to relay the message that cooking is a skill that needs to be developed.

Audience:

My audience was people who love to eat good food and want to try to make it themselves. I geared it towards people who like to eat at home.

Color scheme and color names:

Complementary: red and green. These colors are best used together when the shade is varied, which can be seen in this advertisement.

Top Thing Learned:

I learned that Microsoft Word is a powerful designing tool. This was my first experience with the Publishing view and I was shocked at how many editing options there were. This was a great project to be able to discover the abilities and opportunities found it Word.

Title Font Name & Category:

Apple Chancery: Script

Copy Font Name & Category:

Verdana: Sans Serif

Scanned images used, sources, original sizes, location of scanner used:

The original image was scanned from Good Housekeeping Vol. 260 No. 2. 2014. Its original size was 8 and 1/2 inches by 11 inches. I scanned it at 2550 × 3300 pixels, and sized it to with 300 pixels/inch. The scanner I used was a CanoScan LiDE 700F. It is located on the first floor of the McKay Library.

Scan 6

4 thoughts on “Project 2 Event Ad

  1. I really like the script font you used for your title! The repetition from the groups of 3 parallel lines, and then the large perpendicular line gave good contrast and a sturdy look. I feel like the “registration and other information” could’ve looked better right underneath the day and time, and the “cook like a professional” part should’ve been bolded or a little larger to make it stand out. But the picture and colors capture attention very well, and they are definitely perfect for the audience.
    Here’s my blog. 🙂
    https://annjeaphotography.wordpress.com/
    And maybe another blog you might want to check out.

    A Modern Day Crooner

    Like

  2. Brian, I really like your event ad. I love your color scheme- I think it works really well with your subject! Nice use of the frame around the side and the top. Also, I really like the font you used in your title. It just fits all around nicely with the layout of your design. I can tell you really focused on alignment in this, as well.
    Check out my design!

    Like

Leave a comment