Project 4 Montage

BrianStanfill-Montage-Temple

1. I selected a background picture with a hill, a tree, and the sky. I deleted the tree and cropped the image to 8.5×11 inches.

2. After I fixed the background, I selected the image of the LDS San Diego Temple with the Lasso Tool. I dragged it onto my background. I put the Crosshatch filter on the image of the temple. I created a mask layer of the temple image and began to changed the opacity of my brush tool to different degrees between 100 and 30%. I tried to blend the temple in gradually.

3. I put an old-style texture over the temple and background images. This added a softer feel to the images.

4. Next, I inserted a family photograph, again using the Lasso Tool and dragging it in. I focused on blending in my family with the brush tool at different degrees of opacity. I aimed to have a gradual difference in pixels to make it flow. To do this, I had to create a mask layer over the image of my family.

5. I added two different text boxes for each phrase. That way I could easily change font, size, and placement. I made the first text smaller to contrast and emphasize the word “Forever.”

6.I added the Satin Effect to enhance the text. I also made the color of the text the same color as my dad’s suit. This created more of a connection between the text and my images.

7. Programs/Tools Used: Adobe Photoshop.

  • Message: My message is that families can be forever. Another subtle message is that there is life after death. I also wanted to convey the importance of family love and unity.
  • Audience: Families. Everyone has a family and has felt the love of someone close to them. I tried to make the project applicable to people of all ages and all religions even.
  • Top Thing Learned: I learned how to use varying opacity of the brush tool to blend. It takes patience to blend two or more images. I also focused on contrasting fonts to enhance my text.
  • Filter / Colorization used and where it was applied: I applied a Crosshatch filter to the image of the temple. I also added a texture that looked like old parchment over the background image and the image of the temple.
  • Color scheme and color names: Analagous: teal, blue, and indigo.
  • Title Font Name & Category: Palatino Regular- Oldstyle Serif
  • Copy Font Name & Category: Snell Roundhand Regular-  Script
  • Thumbnails of Images used:

hilllight_textured_backroundsd templefamily

Meetup.com: http://www.meetup.com/New-Jersey-Mentally-Disoriented-Group/

Free Wide HD Wallpaper: http://www.freewhd.com/lollipop-and-candy-wallpaper/

Deseret News: http://www.deseretnews.com/top/1833/12/San-Diego-California-Temple-LDS-temple-picture-quiz-Western-US-edition.html

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10202800850277031&set=a.4477576452210.2168789.1073943593&type=1&theater

One thought on “Project 4 Montage

Leave a comment