Project 6: Stationary

Letterhead:

P6Brian Stanfill Stationary Project Letterhead

Business Card (8.5×11 layout):

P6BrianStanfill Business Card

Business Card (Large Layout):

Business card for blog post

Description: 

Creating and matching a letterhead and business card design while using an original logo.

Process (Programs, Tools, Skills): 

I first sketched possible logo ideas with a pencil and paper. After choosing the best one and adding a color scheme, I opened Adobe Illustrator and created the logo. I drew the surfboard using the shape tool. I added a rectangle into the surfboard and added a 1pt white stroke. I added a hibiscus flower with the pencil tool then copied and pasted it. This use of the Rule of Odds and Repetition add to the rhythm of the project. The text I used for the title is called “Beach Resort.” I thought it fit very well with the project. I added text into the red rectangle and made a slight white stroke to emphasize the title. I then tilted the entire object. Once I finished my logo, I opened Adobe Indesign and copied and pasted the logo.

I made my business card next. For that, I created a small rectangle with the shape tool and added a 1pt black stroke to make it look like a business card. I then took my logo and shrank it to fit into the card. I filled the back with blue and added that color to the hibiscus flowers. For the flip side, I added the repeated flowers to the bottom and a red line to underline the text. I then added the name, company phone number, website and address.

For the letterhead, I took the surfboard logo and expanded it to fill most of the page. I rotated it even more to go from corner to corner. I then set the opacity of the image to 5%. I added the surfboard logo to the top left corner and put the company information right underneath it. I made sure to align the logo on the top with the text that was under it.

Message: 

I wanted to portray Tito’s Surf Shop as a relaxed, fun place to buy surf equipment. It is a shop in Hawaii, so I wanted to continue the tropical beach theme. I did this by using bright colors and adding flowers. I want the shop to look like it belongs by the beach.

Audience:

Anyone who is interested in surfing.

Top Thing Learned:

How to create a letterhead with a watermark. I also learned how to create two different pieces of stationary with the same look and feel.

Color scheme and color names:

Primary: Red, Yellow, and Blue

Title Font Name & Category:

Beach Resort: Decorative

Copy Font Name & Category:

Book Antiqua: Oldstyle

Leave a comment